HomeMission StatementBoard of DirectorsCalendarContactMember FormThings to KnowPhotosBy Laws
Board of Directors


Board of Directors
President, John McLaughlin
I have been coming to Sargent for over 50 years and am now a full time resident. It is my desire to serve the community and to preserve and protect the integrity of East Matagorda Bay and its estuarine to the best of my ability. I am a U.S. Navy veteran (Vietnam era), a former business owner, and former GM of an electrical distributor. I earned a BS in Electrical Engineering Technology from UH and am a past president of the Technology Alumni Association at UH. I have been involved with the resurrection of the East Matagorda Bay Foundation from the beginning.

Vice-President, EJ Smith

Treasurer, Ed Stavinoha

Ed is currently on the board of Caney Creek Estates. He is a full-time resident of Sargent and a past member of the East Matagorda Bay Foundation. He is married to Joan, retired from OFM Machine and has owned property in Sargent since 1971. He, along with his two sons, Donald and Scott love fishing the Sargent and Matagorda Area.

Secretary Lillian Shaver

I have been coming to Sargent for over 11 years.  I’m a resident of Sugar Land and have been employed by ABB Inc. for 36+ years as a Senior Inside Sales Associate.

Director-At-Large, Open